Progressive Lame Duck Congress Attempt To Take Over The Internet

Why does the FCC or Congress feel they have the exclusive right to regulate access to the “*Wolrd Wide Web” (there’s the word again!) tax it, or otherwise restrict any activities on it? The concept of “International Waters” comes to mind, even if a majority of the maintenance of the Web is done by American companies, there is no good method of proving that Americans should bear the burden of regulation, taxation, and policing the Web.

Finally, the biggest concern anyone should have about a Net Neutrality bill, or, a FCC takeover of regulatory control (see Title II, Telecommunications Regulation) is SERVICE. When did a Government takeover ever make any service better, more competitive, or cheaper? Let alone more FAIR!

Tim L. Marshall 11/19/2010

These slugs are in violation of their oath of office and the 1st amendment, and by doing such; they deserve to be impeached – Please write the other members of Congress and demand we nip these freedom & liberty hating slugs in the bud!!! – DEMAND THEIR IMPEACHMENT IMMEDIATELY!

The 19 Senators Who Voted To Censor The Internet
via Techdirt by Mike Masnick

This is hardly a surprise but, this morning (as previously announced), the lame duck Senate Judiciary Committee unanimously voted to move forward with censoring the internet via the COICA bill — despite a bunch of law professors explaining to them how this law is a clear violation of the First Amendment.

What’s really amazing is that many of the same Senators have been speaking out against internet censorship in other countries, yet they happily vote to approve it here because it’s seen as a way to make many of their largest campaign contributors happy. There’s very little chance that the bill will actually get passed by the end of the term but, in the meantime, we figured it might be useful to highlight

The 19 Senators who voted to censor the internet this morning:

• Patrick J. Leahy — Vermont
• Herb Kohl — Wisconsin
• Jeff Sessions — Alabama
• Dianne Feinstein — California
• Orrin G. Hatch — Utah
• Russ Feingold — Wisconsin
• Chuck Grassley — Iowa
• Arlen Specter — Pennsylvania
• Jon Kyl — Arizona
• Chuck Schumer — New York
• Lindsey Graham — South Carolina
• Dick Durbin — Illinois
• John Cornyn — Texas
• Benjamin L. Cardin — Maryland
• Tom Coburn — Oklahoma
• Sheldon Whitehouse — Rhode Island
• Amy Klobuchar — Minnesota
• Al Franken — Minnesota
• Chris Coons — Delaware

This should be a list of shame. You would think that our own elected officials would understand the First Amendment but, apparently, they have no problem turning the US into one of the small list of authoritarian countries that censors internet content it does not like (in this case, content some of its largest campaign contributors do not like).

We already have laws in place to deal with infringing content, so don’t buy the excuse that this law is about stopping infringement. This law takes down entire websites based on the government’s say-so

. First Amendment protections make clear that if you are going to stop any specific speech it has to be extremely specific speech. This law has no such restrictions. It’s really quite unfortunate that these 19 US Senators are the first American politicians to publicly vote in favor of censoring speech in America.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s